Teacher – But Miss when am I ever going to need to know this???

It doesn’t seem to matter what you are trying to teach – some kid in a smart arse tone will always ask:

When am I ever going to actually use this?

I rang Officeworks today, here is how the conversation went:

Me: Hi I was wondering how long it takes and how much it costs to get a photo canvas printed?
OW girl: About 2-3 days. What size were you after?
Me: 30cm x 30cm
OW girl: Centimetres? Oh! Um our canvases don’t come in centimetres, they only come in inches.
Me: SIGH 12×12 inches then

It wasn’t the fact that she didn’t know that 12inches was 30cm that bothered me. It was the fact she didn’t seem to know that they measured the same thing.

This, kids, is why you need to listen in Maths!

MrsM

***Stay tuned tomorrow to find out why I am getting a photo canvas printed***

20130124-102940.jpgimage source

6 thoughts on “Teacher – But Miss when am I ever going to need to know this???

  1. Pingback: Wife/Mum – FAIL Online Christmas Shopping | Mum Wife Teacher Nerd

  2. My teenage daughter says this about maths ALL THE TIME. But in year 9 (last year), they were doing trigonometry etc and I honestly couldn’t tell her that she’d ever use it in real life. As an adult, I know it’s good exercise for the brain, but of course she could care less. She’s actually quite good at maths but doesn’t like it, and wanted to drop it for year 11. I think I’ve convinced her to drop down to a basic maths so she finds it easy, and it might help when she gets that inevitable retail job to get through uni.

Leave a Reply

