Mum – A new start

Several months ago, not long before I started my own blog, my bloggy guru, Jodi, wrote a post about her love/hate relationship with daycare. You can read it here:
Daycare…do you love it or hate it?
(Check out Jodi’s blog at Mummyhood101)

At the time I could have written that post word for word. Unfortunately over the following few months, there were more and more reasons I hated my daycare and very few reasons I loved it. I decided to bite the bullet and start the hunt for a new daycare.

Fortunately for us this coincided with a new preschool opening in our area, it is linked to our parish church and the primary school that we hope the kids will go to.

We went to an open day at the end of last year and were pretty impressed with what we saw and in 8 weeks from putting Cheeky Boy’s name on the waiting list we have had more communication than I had in 2 and a half years at our last centre.

Cheeky Boy started today and he was very excited. We drove past yesterday and he told me all the exciting things he was going to do.

Drop off this morning went pretty smoothly. He was a bit hesitant to hand his water bottle to a stranger and had a quiet wander for a few minutes to check the place out but as soon as he spotted the roller coaster he was sorted. Two rides on that and he was waving me out the door.

20130122-082549.jpgimage source

Fingers crossed for a great 2013 at preschool!

Have a great day
-MrsM

Linking up with Essentially Jess for IBOT (I Blog on Tuesday)

11 thoughts on “Mum – A new start

  1. Thanks for the mention!!! 🙂

    Yes, I am contemplating a new day care but it all seems like hard work especially when waiting lists are LONG. When I wrote that original post I saw a lot of positives….unfortunately we are swinging the other way and there are now a lot of negatives.

    Though my kids are happy!! That is the main thing right? Maybe?

    Hope Cheeky Boy has a great day!! 🙂

    • I was in that mental place for a long time and said that I’d decide and make any changes while on mat leave.
      Towards the end of last year the little
      man just wasn’t very happy and there were a few incidents and I said enough. In fact the hunt for new centres, while time consuming, reaffirmed by decision.
      I was lucky to find another place for the baby girl too, although 2 kids at 2 different centres will be painful I am confident they will receive better care.

  2. It sounds like a good move. I’m hoping to get my daughter into the day care centre attached to the school she’ll be going to next year. She’s been on the waiting list since she was born 2.5 years ago. It’s ridiculous. I like the centre she’s at now, but it’s much more expensive.

    Hopefully her brother gets in faster because the logistics of having them at two different centres on opposite sides of the city will be a real pain. It sounds like you’ll be dealing with that as well.

    Visiting from IBOT.

    • I’ll have mine in two centres this year, and I’m sure it will be a hassle, but it was one of the few cons next to a list of many pros when I asked if I should make the switch. Thankfully the two centres are only about 1.5km apart.

      Hope you get a place soon.

      Thanks for visiting!

  3. Glad to hear you’ve found a good one. My daughter had her first ever day of daycare last Friday and thankfully she seemed to love it! Didn’t want to leave at the end of the day. Will be interesting to see how she goes this week though, not that she knows what is happening a bit more but I’m really hoping she continues to enjoy it.

    #teamIBOT was here!

  4. The first couple of days, even weeks are always the hardest! But before long, they love it and settle in so nicely and be saying “Bye Mum”… here is me, this mumma starting her daughter in a new creche this year too 🙂 xx

  5. I think i’d be pretty stoked with the roller coaster too!
    Our kids are back at school next week. I think I’m going to miss them 😦

Leave a Reply

